Who We Are

Founding ASEMFL

The Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine of Florida (ASEMFL) was founded by Gavriel Salvendy (UCF-NAE), Nicholas Garber (UCF-NAE), and Michael Georgiopoulos (dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science, UCF), at the direction of UCF Provost Whittaker. Provost Whittaker initially presented the ASEMFL idea to State University System (SUS) Provosts in Fall 2017. In Spring 2018, Salvendy, Garber and Georgiopoulos invited other Academy members, deans and other stakeholders to join the Board of the Academy. The Academy (ASEMFL) held its first Board meeting on October 20, 2018, at which time the constitution and bylaws of the Academy were approved. The Academy now is an official corporation established in the State of Florida on October 26, 2018.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of ASEMFL consists of 10 NASEM (National Academy of Science Engineering and Medicine) members, 1 National Academy of Inventors member and 2 deans.