Who We Are
Laura H. Greene

Laura H. Greene

Chief Scientist; Marie Krafft Professor of Physics, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and Florida State University

The National MagLab: A Powerhouse of Innovation

The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (NHMFL) or “MagLab” is an NSF National Laboratory with campuses at Florida State University in Tallahassee, University of Florida in Gainesville, and Los Alamos National Laboratory. It is the largest and highest-powered magnet laboratory in the world and is unique among US National laboratories in its breadth and depth of research probing basic and applied questions in materials, energy, and life. Every year, more than 2,000 scientists from almost 300 countries come to use our unique facilities with the support of our staff scientists who are each world-leading in their own research programs. Yearly, the MagLab yields more than 400 scientific publications in peer-reviewed journals. I will present an overview of the MagLab facilities, examples of recent records in magnet technology, and some pioneering research highlights.


Laura H. Greene is the Chief Scientist of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and the Marie Krafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University. Her research is on quantum materials, focusing on fundamental studies of novel materials growth and the mechanisms of unconventional superconductivity. As a leading advocate for diversity in science, a champion for women in science and engineering, science diplomacy, ethics, and human rights, she has held leadership roles in many of the most prestigious science organizations nationally and internationally, including president of the American Physical Society (APS), a member of the Board of Directors for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and is presently the Vice President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) for Ethics and Oureach. President Joe Biden recently appointed Greene to the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) which directly advises POTUS on matters of science, technology, and innovation policy. Greene is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a fellow of the Institute of Physics (U.K.), the AAAS, and the APS. She has been a Guggenheim Fellow, was awarded the E.O. Lawrence Award for Materials Research from the U.S. Department of Energy, the APS Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, and the Bellcore Award of Excellence. She has co-authored over 200 publications and presented nearly 700 invited talks.